Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Sucks!

I’ve had an epiphany. For ages there was this niggling feeling that something wasn’t quite right, and couldn’t quite work out what it was.  At first I thought it might just be because my back’s been playing up again recently and I haven’t been as committed as I like to training. But then I read  Meerkatsu’s old post about other people’s views on BJJ and suddenly everything became clear:

BJJ is shit, isn’t it?

I can’t believe I’ve wasted all this time with it.  I’m really angry with myself.  That’s 2.5 years (roughly) of my life I’m never getting back.

I’ve been a fool and I have no-one to blame but myself.  I became  so solipsistic about BJJ that I literally forgot there was anything else out there.I just I became fell in love with the BJJ community and lifestyle that I lost sight of the big picture. If I’d have just looked outside of BJJ for five minutes and done some basic net research and I’d have quickly realised how badly it sucks. Thankfully for me (and you) there are some awesome videos on that site of the effective street techniques that we sport players are missing out on. You can check them out here. I am really pleased he covers a safe way to disarm a knife, something that BJJ has failed to address despite me being a Blue Belt.

Maybe I’m just bitter. After all, Lau Gar taught me these highly effective knife defenses:

And I stupidly gave it all up to pursue BJJ.

They say hindsight is 20/20, but they also say you need to make mistakes to realise what really is important in life. Or perhaps – you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone – So perhaps this epiphany is a good thing? I’ve learnt from my mistakes and I’ve realised that I’ll be much happier doing a traditional martial art that teaches me real-life self defense techniques.

Will I bollocks.

Ugh. I feel dirty even joking about it. Looking back I can’t believe I used to do this. And not only did I do it – I genuinely thought it was useful. Just click the link… What the fuck was I thinking? It’s not fighting, it doesn’t even LOOK like fighting. It’s fucking dancing is what it is. FUCK!

Now maybe I’m doing a disservice to the guy I linked to above – perhaps he does practise all those techniques he shows against resisting opponents and trains in what we would consider a “realistic” or alive manner*  – but it was an excellent way to illustrate my point. I am constantly amazed that in 2010 there are still people in the traditional martial arts community that think BJJ is nothing but a sport where everyone jumps guard no matter what the circumstances. That BJJ players are incapable of avoiding the ground even if it’s strewn with broken glass, lava, and used hypodermic syringes. That the early UFCs proved nothing as it “wasn’t a real fight”. And so on, and so on, and so on. Then you take a look at whatever their deadly ancient art is, and it’s always something like this… the horror.

And after that, I think you need a Renzo Chaser:

*though I can’t see any evidence that he does, so sod him.

peddling this idea that dead forms and dead drills teach you to fight.
Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Sucks!

  1. Chris says:

    Sorry to hear your back is playing up again. The Lau Gar you linked to is really bad. The Wing Chun guy isn’t bad though. Fights back in the era from where these arts originated would have involved weapons anyway so the training would have been different (but the Lau Gar knife defence stuff is a joke). I agree that bjj / submission wrestling is one of the best ways to train today though (notwithstanding the use of guns and knives in the modern world!)

    • Tartovski says:

      Have you been smoking crack again? It’s TERRRIBLE. Just rewatch it and pay close attention to the “attacker” He throws one lame technique and then just stands there as the WC master finishes with a flurry. Now, I’m not arguing it’s not more effective that the LG Knife Defenses which seem to assume one punch/throw knocks someone out – but it is still pretty god awful.

  2. Meerkatsu says:

    Omg i wasted 7 years to this pile of crap.

  3. horld says:

    BJJ is good for MMA

  4. vaille says:

    Renzo, meet Dan Henderson. Round 1. 1:40. Good night. In all seriousness, though, I do love BJJ’s groundwork, tho I prefer Danzan Ryu for close stand up. I’d never willingly go to the ground for actual self defense, but it can and does happen and folks should be ready for it. Stand up striking, boxing. Stick and move. WC is actually very good as well. Then at long range, tkd. Oh wait.. running away might be more effective.

Leave a Reply

